It may sound like a great idea to create an account with a friend, or group of friends, so you can all have access to the Dashboard. There are some issues that commonly arise and we highly discourage sharing an account, or your password, with anyone. Even trusted friends and family can cause irreversible damage to your servers and account.
Here are some of the problems we have seen for users that share accounts:
- Chargeback/Fraud: If you purchase credits and have your payment information saved, anyone that has access to your Minehut account will also be able to make purchases with that same payment method.
- Deleting Servers: During disputes another person can log in and reset or delete your servers. There is no way to recover servers in this case as even the backups are removed.
- Deleting Accounts: We require confirmation before deleting accounts, but this is especially dangerous if you share an email account as well since they can confirm for you.
- Stealing Account: It is a very simple process to change password for the account, this is also easy to do if you also share an email address.
When you share an account it makes it very difficult to determine who is the real owner as there will be multiple IP addresses listed on the account. This means if your account is stolen we probably won't be able to restore your access. You will also be responsible for any fraud charges that occur should legal action need to take place.
You are responsible for all actions that occur on your account so it is important to refrain from sharing your log in information with anyone. As a reminder, Minehut and its employees will never ask for your password.